Public Interest Law Centre (PILC)


Disability Work

In 1990, as part of the Decade of Disabled Persons, the Public Interest Law Centre (PILC) received a recognition award presented by the Decade Conference Committee in co-operation with the Manitoba Human Rights Commission for its disability work.

Pro Bono Public Interest Law Project

In 1996, the Manitoba Bar Association launched the Pro Bono Public Interest Law Project under which firms and individual lawyers have been donating time and services in order to assist our work.

Over the past 18 years, the Project has raised over $250,000 for public interest law in Manitoba. More importantly, the Project has allowed PILC to draw upon the expertise of members of the Manitoba Bar on issues ranging from the continued institutionalization of persons living with mental illness to the standing of Canadian taxpayers to challenge inappropriate administration of the Income Tax Act.


Please contact us if you or your firm is interested in assisting PILC.

Pro Bono Award

Every year, a Pro Bono Award is given out at the Manitoba Bar Association Mid-Winter Awards Luncheon. Recipients dating back to 2001 are:

2017 | The Basic Income Team (Garth Smorang, K.C., Shannon Carson, Johanna Willows, Joel Deeley, Kelly Olson and Kristen Worbanski, Myers Weinberg LLP)

2016 | Elizabeth Mitchell and John Myers, Taylor McCaffrey LLP

2015 | The Families First Team, (Helga Van Iderstine, Adele Domenco, Danielle Barchyn , Aikins, MacAulay & Thorvaldson LLP; Aimée Craft, University of Manitoba; Stacey Soldier, Bueti Wasyliw Wiebe; Johanna Willows; Jessica Saunders and Corrine Lavallee, D’Arcy & Deacon LLP)

2014 | New Directions Team, (Ken Dolinsky, Shereese Qually, Alain Laurencelle, Dan Ransom, Lauren Sawich, Candace Fierback and Charles Roy, Taylor McCaffrey LLP)

2013 | Allison Fenske, Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

2012 | George Orle, K.C., Orle Davidson Giesbrecht Bargen LLP

2011 | Anita Southall and Wayne Leslie, Fillmore Riley LLP

2010 | David Wright, Aikins, MacAulay and Thorvaldson LLP

2009 | The Bannerman Team, (Robert Dawson, Dawson Law Chambers; John Myers, Shereese Qually, Taylor McCaffrey LLP; and Daniel Rempel, Gange Goodman & French)

2008 | Ron Dearman, Mayer, Dearman & Pellizzaro

2007 | Veronica Jackson, Gange Goodman & French

2006 | Candace Everard, Pitblado LLP

2005 | Karen Busby, University of Manitoba; Patricia Lane and Grant Mitchell Taylor McCaffrey LLP

2004 | John Harvie, Myers Weinberg LLP

2003 | Campbell Wright, Pitblado LLP

2002 | Norman A. Cuddy, Tapper Cuddy LLP

2001 | David C. Golub, Levene Tadman Golub Law Corporation